poohloversunite

Creative Writing Inc.

i’m just going to make this a really long title since this is such a long post November 16, 2013

Filed under: 2013,a really long post on books — pinkdoughnuts15 @ 1:06 pm

So I was clicking through blog posts on that Freshly Pressed button….thing….and I came across this guy who I LOVE SO MUCH RIGHT NOW, and he’s holding a blog party.

So first of all, you must all realize now that I’m a little slow. And by slow, I mean someone has to use English words, and tell me what to do baby-step-by-baby-step for me to understand how something works. If you have the patience to do that, I can be a pro in just about 5 minutes (I would list examples to prove this, but that’s not the point of the post). So I’m just going to tell it to you straight. I have absolutely zero clue how a blog party works. The whole linking thing? Yeah…still confused. ‘

BUT

I decided to go ahead and participate ALL THE WAY on the other side of the universe on my lonely blog, and write anyways. Because I love the topic he picked.

WAIT. Okay, I JUST now got the whole linking thing….

Like I said, I’m a little slow.

But after clicking through Goodreads for a good 10 minutes, I’ve decided to put down some of my most favorite books EVER.

1. The Fault In Our Stars, John Green

This is the best book I have ever read in my WHOLE ENTIRE EXISTENCE. I cried for the last 5 chapters, even after the really sad part was over. I was crying for an hour after I was finished reading the book. When I found out they were making a movie, I seriously went around the house jumping up and down and hugging everybody. If you haven’t read it already, READ IT.

2. Keeper of the Lost Cities, Shannon Messenger (not a YA novel…BUT STILL LOVED IT)

As you’ll probably come to realize, I am a lover of all things fairy-tale and everything that ever had anything to do with magical-ness. And yes, I know that’s not a word. I haven’t read this book in a little over half a year, but when anyone brings up the subject of middle-grade reads, I immediately suggest this. If you  have anything against elves and magical cities and things pertaining to that, I suggest you do not read it. If you liked Harry Potter, you should read this.

3. The Hunger Games, Suzanne Collins

I got this for my birthday two years ago, and I stayed up reading it all night. I ended up going to bed at 2 am. There are no words to describe how awesome this is. I told my mom that we’re going to see the Catching Fire movie THE DAY IT COMES OUT. I’m saving up for tickets for both of us and everything. Heck, I’m saving up to buy too much popcorn and twizzlers too.

4. The Rangers Apprentice Series, John Flanagan

I couldn’t just pick ONE book, so I picked all of them! I haven’t even finished the series, but every time somebody mentions the any of the books, my reaction is a little like this: OH MY GOSH, YOU LOVE THAT BOOK TOO?! WHICH ONE WAS YOUR FAVORITE? I KNOW RIGHT?! THAT WAS MINE TOO!! I LOVE YOU SOOOO MUUUUCHHH RIIIIIIIIGHT NOOOOWWWW *HUGS THEIR GUTS OUT* That’s actually my reaction for most of these books (especially any of John Green’s books), but you get the point.

5. Tuesdays At The Castle (another non-YA novel), Jessica Day George

This book was so amazing. I mean, I didn’t think I could love a non-YA book as much as I love this one. I read this book, and I swear, the day the second book came out, a little piece of me died because I was just so happy. I think that the only bad thing I have to say about this is that JESSICA LEFT THE SECOND BOOK ON A FREAKING CLIFF HANGER. I was so mad at her.

6. The Amaranth Enchantment, Julie Berry

I’m not exactly 100% sure if this is a YA book, but it’s still one of my favorite, so whatever. This was another fairytale-ish book, where the girl loses her parents, and has to go live with an INCREDIBLY evil aunt, and it turns out that the girl was a noble, but the girl has to go steal a pearl from the prince…yes, I know that makes zero sense, but that just means you’ll have to read it.

 

9 Responses to “i’m just going to make this a really long title since this is such a long post”

  1. matttblack42 Says:

    Thanks for participating! #1 and #3 are great picks, and I’ve been meaning to read The Rangers Apprentice series for months now.

    Oh, and cliff-hangers are the worst. Whoever invented them is probably the same guy who came up with pop-up advertisements and chain letters. The only time I don’t mind them is if the next book has already been published, so I don’t have to wait months or even years to find how things are resolved.

  2. […] Pinkdoughnuts: I’m Just Going To Make This A Really Long Title Since This is Such a Long Post. […]

  3. I’ve been meaning to read TFioS, but I haven’t been happy enough lately to not get completely depressed by it, so I’ll shelve it for now. I have also been meaning to read all of the Ranger’s Apprentice series, and I read the first two books, but I can’t find anyone to loan the rest to me.

  4. These are some good recommendations (thanks for the list). I’m a fan of Hunger Games too, and TFIOS. Will check out the other ones too…
    and yes, I agree, Pooh is great :)

  5. […] Pinkdoughnuts: I’m Just Going To Make This A Really Long Title Since This is Such a Long Post. […]


Leave a Reply

