poohloversunite

Creative Writing Inc.

My Origin Story March 24, 2014

Filed under: 2014,Uncategorized — pinkdoughnuts15 @ 7:23 pm

SEE? This is EXACTLY what I was talking about…the writing part. Not the rest.

Simply Miko

Written for the DP Challenge: Writerly Reflections

When I was thirteen, I asked my mother if she wanted me.

See, in school that day, the topic brought up over tater tots and milk cartons was of bastard babies and whether we were ones. Naturally as soon as I got home, I popped the question to my mother. “Did you want me? Was I planned?”

My mother paused from cooking and wrapped me in her arms. “You have no idea how much I wanted you.”

I thought nothing of it until I went to bed. That’s when I remembered that before me, I had four other siblings.

I didn’t know what their names were, hesitated to even ask if my parents had gotten to name them before they were lost, but reflecting on that, it was clear that yeah, I had been wanted.

And though, I knew deep in my heart that I was/am precious to…

View original post 891 more words

 

One Response to “My Origin Story”

  1. I feel the same. :-)


Leave a Reply

